Personal Plea: Keith Needs Some Motivation

19 Jul

I try to be as honest as possible with everything I do on the web. My personal belief is that if you’re honest, people will respect you and listen to what you have to say. So with that said, here’s what’s really up with Keith and Seoulistic.com as of this moment.

I’ve been running Seoulistic.com for almost 4 months, and I have seen phenomenal growth. This month there will be 17,000 unique visitors, which is pretty amazing for the short time span. Of course I haven’t done it alone. I am immensely grateful to talktomeinkorean and seouleats and everyone else that have so kindly believed in my content and shared it. Without everyone else, seoulistic.com (and your homie Keith) is nothing. Really, really, really big thank you to everyone!

But the truth is, I’m losing steam! Although the growth and the response have been amazing, it’s kind of hard to keep going without anything that can materialize. So I’m making a one-time plea (hopefully!). In an effort to keep myself motivated and to really see if my online content can translate into something profitable, I am asking for donations. I’ve only had 1 donation so far, and it really made me feel good about my work. And honestly, I don’t want to ask, but I’ve run out of motivation for the moment, and I think this will help me pick up some steam again.

So! If you think Seoulistic.com and my own content here at gyopokeith.com have helped you in anyway, I’d really appreciate anything you can donate. It’ll show that people actually do care about my work, and that’s really important to me. Hopefully it’ll keep me motivated enough to keep going until I can make my own money.

Any donations, small or large, would be welcome via paypal (credit cards are ok). And if you can’t donate, I’d be super grateful if you supported my sites by liking seoulistic and gyopokeith on facebook. Thanks again everyone!

Click here to help motivate Keith with a donation!

P.S. – Taking a mental vacation until Sunday πŸ™‚

12 Responses to “Personal Plea: Keith Needs Some Motivation”

  1. paui July 19, 2012 at 4:20 AM #

    Ur drunk in that pic arent u

    • Keith Kim July 19, 2012 at 4:31 AM #

      i stopped drinking like a madman after u left… just 3AM dude. and I’m old now haha

  2. Izzy Teo July 19, 2012 at 2:46 PM #

    λ‹€μŒμ— μ œκ°€ λ„ˆν•œν…Œ κΈ°λΆ€ν•˜κ² μš”.

    • Izzy Teo July 21, 2012 at 5:47 PM #

      κΈ°λΆ€ν–ˆμ–΄μš”. νž˜λ‚΄μ„Έμš”!

      • Keith Kim July 25, 2012 at 2:17 PM #

        Izzy, thank you so much!!

  3. Sherrie July 21, 2012 at 4:13 AM #

    hi – just randomly click your YouTube and saw how you are Korean-American and living in Korean. Great job. I didn’t really read or go to Talktomeinkorean. What is it? Yes, I am too lazy to click the link.

    The reason I am asking is my daughter is attending a UCI writing class this summer and a troup of South Korean kids came to the class. My daugher is saying the kids either have some but most have no concept of English. If they talk, the accent is so heavy – the teacher is having a problem understanding their English. Don’t even ask her about if the kids understand English – because a lot of them just bow when they are asked a question and just give you a “blank” look.

    Are the kids really learning English there or are they coming here hoping to learn the language? Just wondering from what I have heard from my daugher.

    Continue sharing your YouTube video and please stay healthy.

    • Keith Kim July 25, 2012 at 2:20 PM #

      Hi Sherrie, they are probably there to learn the language.

      A lot of Korean kids go abroad for the summer to learn English these days. But parents send their kids in hopes that their kids learn some english in a native-english speaking setting. So hopefully the Korean kids from your daughter’s class will be able to speak some English by the end of the class. πŸ™‚

  4. Stella Nasambu July 26, 2012 at 3:39 PM #

    Keith fighting!!! Keep going dude. Your site is a great help for someone like me whose moving to start school at Yonsei soon. So dont stop writing and being all sorts of awesome. Please.

    • Keith Kim July 30, 2012 at 2:27 AM #

      Hi Stella, I am going! πŸ˜€ Thanks for such nice words πŸ™‚

  5. jang August 14, 2012 at 7:38 AM #

    hi keith…just wonderin…are you workin with koreanclass.com?I had downloaded lessons there and I just thought it was you hosting..I found this page in talktomeinkorean in fb…so I pay a visit…I was kinda interested to watch your vids.. and it helped..hope you won’t stop posting coz many people like me were helped by u…thanks so much….Go!! GO!!! aja aja aja aja

  6. Deborah November 26, 2013 at 5:10 PM #

    okay this is late but hey encouragements and donations are never late πŸ™‚ but first i will like to give a long speech! πŸ™‚
    A week back i somehow stumbled on your video and ever since i have been hooked. I have to watch at least one of your videos each day(yes, they are that good). Yesterday i watched a video you were featured in and you said something that made you earn my respect… you said, you were poor but your dad was rich and i loved that because i have the same situation, all most all of my friends think i am this rich girl that pretends to be poor and can call her dad any minute and get any amount but i always tell them this to which they never listen or say well if anything goes wrong he is there. I tell them; look yes i admit my father is rich but i am not. My fathers money is his and i am working my head off to make mine, Ever since i came to this country (USA) I have never once called my dad for money because i want to make mine and not rely on him. So when i heard your statement you got my respect! I also have a youtube channel which is still in its baby stage and hence i know how hard it would be for someone like you that has a channel that has passed the baby stage. Like i said i am definitely not rich but i love how real and sincere you are! Keep being awesome and don’t stop doing what you love. I will be donating later on in the day(Trust me i will, i never go back on my words, hence i watch what i say)…i am not at home and i don’t have my card with me but i will! Keep being awesome Keith! Hopefully i can donate bigger sums in future!
    ~Hajasco1

    • Deborah November 27, 2013 at 2:26 PM #

      just sent something little! best wishes

Leave a Reply

