Korea Then vs Korea Now: Korean Cultural Identity Crisis

16 Jul

Seoulistic.com is a site dedicated to introducing Korean culture among other super useful tips. But here’s the problem: Korea itself is having a cultural identity crisis. I had a post about how Korea was different 10 years ago. That just goes to show how much and how quickly Korea is changing. It also makes it really difficult for me to create videos/posts that are 100% correct about Korean culture. Here’s a few examples:

– Touching in Korea: I made a video about what touching the opposite sex is like in Korea. The older people usually don’t get all up on each other, but some of the younger generation is all like “whatever, yo! lets get busy!” in public.

– Korean Style Punishments: this video was about what punishments are like in Korea. I showed the original video to a couple of people including @kyeongeun and @yo_ona. Hitting is old school… now it’s all like “I love you, i love you!”

– Being awesome on subways used to mean never siting in the priority seating and getting up for the elderly/kids/etc. But these days there are lots of younger Korean kids that are not that awesome and just stay glued to their smartphones (sometimes ignoring the elderly in front of them). Scary ajummas and ajeoshi’s 10 years ago would have ripped one into them, but now they just give em stank eye.

So it’s hard to be totally on point cause Korea is changing so fast. It’s kind of stuck between the old way and new way of doing things. While all the older traditions and ways of doing things is still true, it definitely is changing. Nowadays it’s all about being chic and modern, but personally, I like most of the old stuff much better. If you haven’t noticed, I’m an ajeoshi at heart 😉

2 Responses to “Korea Then vs Korea Now: Korean Cultural Identity Crisis”

  1. Doug 陀愚 July 16, 2012 at 10:10 AM #

    Heh I guess we’re both getting older. I feel the same way about American culture though not so much in thr span of 10 years.

    My grandma is a nice lady from Kansas who writes holiday cards every year, says hi to her neighbors and is always polite. The kind of manners she has are something I rarely see in my generation anymore.

    I used to consider myself a liberal type, but nowadays I appreciate tradition and such more than before.

    Man, I am getting old. ;-p

  2. Izzy Teo July 16, 2012 at 10:11 AM #

    Lookslike that you are still a 전통 아저씨. I guess kpop have made an impact too….

Leave a Reply

