My Dad is the Ultimate Korean-American

26 Jun

My dad is, culturally speaking, half Korean and half American. He’s a really unique guy because most Korean people his generation are totally Korean. But my dad is not. He immigrated to New York when he was a teen, so he has the unique experience of being young enough to be Korean, but also have lived in America long enough to be really American. Here’s a few fun facts about my dad:

He speaks English with a Brooklyn accent: Most Korean immigrants of his generation can only speak broken English. But my dad is fluent, and he has a Brooklyn accent on top of that. How awesome is that?
His all time favorite movie is “Animal House”: This is a 70’s movie about chugging beers in college. Most Korean folks don’t even know what that movie is. My dad lived it!
He has an American-style tummy: Korean men are usually pretty slim. But you’ll be hard pressed to find a Korean man like my dad… skinny arms and legs, but with a big ol’ tummy!
He loves big ass cars: This is the part of him that is totally American and makes me think he’s from Texas. He used to drive those big ol’ Lincoln Town Cars. Now he drives a BMW X5.

He’s still really Korean at times though. He doesn’t say ‘I love  you’ at all, and he’s not so big on hugs. But I’m totally cool with that. I feel really lucky to have a father that is both a Korean and an American. What are your fathers like?

Bonus picture! ANIMAL HOUSE!!!!!

14 Responses to “My Dad is the Ultimate Korean-American”

  1. @울바 ~ (@Oo3013e) June 26, 2012 at 2:16 AM #

    awesome topic keith ^^ ,, for me i think i have an amazing dad in this world ^^ he is Eastern “Arabian” with an open mind >>>>> i’m lucky to have dad like him ^^

    • Keith Kim June 26, 2012 at 11:01 AM #

      Yes! My dad is very open minded too 🙂

  2. Doug 陀愚 June 26, 2012 at 9:35 AM #

    A great post! I think the experiences of Asian-Americans doesn’t get enough attention sometimes so it’s nice to hear stories like this.

    I knew a person back at my old temple who was Japanese-American but he had that nice balance between both cultures, spoke both languages well and could blend into either one smoothly. It’s a rare thing since people tend to unconsciously favor one over the other, but it’s pretty impressive when a person can straddle two cultures so well. 🙂

    • Keith Kim June 26, 2012 at 11:02 AM #

      Yea, there’s tons of bi-cultural people around the world. I used to dislike being Korean-American. Now I love it!

      • Vera June 26, 2012 at 1:03 PM #

        Aww 😦 What made you change your view on being Korean-American? Or did you just grow up and gain more confidence?

      • Keith Kim June 27, 2012 at 2:11 AM #

        yea I probably just grew up! 🙂

  3. Vera June 26, 2012 at 1:00 PM #

    It would be neat to see your dad speaking with the Brooklyn accent. I have never seen any Asian-American who loves big vehicles! They all drive small Hondas or Toyotas – from what I’ve seen.

    • Keith Kim June 27, 2012 at 2:11 AM #

      Yea, totally cool hahaha. hope to have a video of him next time i see him 🙂

  4. Izzy Teo June 26, 2012 at 3:26 PM #

    Would you consider to be Koreanised back again and settle back in Korea?

    • Keith Kim June 27, 2012 at 2:12 AM #

      My dad? He’s thinking about moving back. But he’s still unsure. I’m already here 😉

  5. rockchiq June 28, 2012 at 1:26 PM #

    are you going to be staying in korea for good?

  6. Mike DelPriore August 22, 2012 at 6:12 AM #

    Hi Keith- Did your dad attend Pratt Institute in Brooklyn and was an artist back in the early 1980’s?

  7. Mi Ki October 14, 2012 at 11:36 PM #

    A Korean man who has a slight belly and speaks English with a Brooklyn accent? Ooh! (Heart beats faster) 🙂

  8. Onion Yap (@sexyonion) March 13, 2013 at 4:48 AM #

    Wanna listen to your dad’s Brooklyn accent so much 🙂 Make a video of that pleaseeeee 🙂

Leave a Reply

