Job sites for Korea – Still a Pain

9 Mar

In my last post I mentioned I was looking to hire Korean natives through craigslist and networking. That didn’t work out too well. I was going to go through the streets and start posting some fliers, but before I could do that I met with a friend who told me about some more online resources for hiring Koreans.

She said that Naver.com and Daum.net both have cafes that are useful for hiring.

Here are the job sites she posted on:
http://cafe.daum.net/breakjob
http://cafe.daum.net/4toeic/

These are exactly what I was looking for: free job postings to a site with tons of people looking for jobs. No stupid Korean business registration number, no fee to pay. Just post and let the applications flood in.

But it’s still not that simple for foreigners, mostly because we’re not used to the whole online “cafe” system. These are essentially online forums with added levels of difficulty. Korean internet is a royal pain in the ass. Here’s a typical example of Korean cafes:

Me -> I want to post so I go to the site.
Site -> Says I must sign up.
Me -> Ok cool. I’m in. I press “write post.”
Site -> Says I must upgrade to a “regular member” to write posts.
Me -> Why? Fine,  how do I do it?
Site -> Request the admin to be upgraded.
Me ->  WTF why??? Fine. Done. Request made. Press “write post” again.
Site -> Your request must be approved by an administrator.
Me -> AHH whatever… fine. I’ll wait.
Site -> (next day). Congratulations, you have been upgraded!
Me -> Finally! Press “write post” again.
Site ->  You must write 5 comments in order to post.
Me -> …. I hate you…

To Koreans it’s normal protocol on the internet. To me, it’s like having an argument with my mom: I don’t understand half the things she says and I never win.

I didn’t even try this time. I asked my friend to post for me, and within 1 hour, I already have about 10 applications. I’m loving that I found these sites. But it still doesn’t change the fact that I freaking hate the Internet in Korea.

9 Responses to “Job sites for Korea – Still a Pain”

  1. Charles March 9, 2012 at 4:26 PM #

    Lesson learned: why do for yourself what you can get others to do for you? Stick with that lesson and you’ll have something up and running soon enough 🙂

    • Keith Kim March 12, 2012 at 4:23 PM #

      Absolutely! Got my first unofficial, off-the-books employee meeting today. We all start somewhere 🙂

  2. Rahayu Ayu Susanti March 10, 2012 at 3:20 PM #

    :))
    u’re funny

    • Keith Kim March 12, 2012 at 4:23 PM #

      Hahaha, it’s funny now, but think of how mad you would be if you tried to register!! 😉

  3. Shannon March 12, 2012 at 1:32 AM #

    LOL, your example is so funny! Sorry, I shouldn’t laugh at your suffering with sites.
    When I was reading this for the first time I was like “great, now he finally found what he wanted”, but then I finished reading.
    Looks like you’re having a hard time with that. I hope after you found out those sites everything gets easier for you.
    Good look!

    • Keith Kim March 12, 2012 at 4:24 PM #

      Thanks Shannon! My friend really helped me out 🙂 I got my first part-time employee!! hehe gonna meet her today.

  4. Jake Slingland March 14, 2012 at 8:00 PM #

    Amazing. Yeah Man, I’m still perplex my Korea’s COMPLETE dependence on IE here. Also, is it just me or is Korean web design stuck in like 1998?

    • Keith Kim March 15, 2012 at 4:25 PM #

      I believe the reason is because Korea made it a law to use some sort of encryption for IE for websites for security purposes. I think it’s been revoked since, but the web in Korea is still culturally in 1998. lame!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hot Girl Hired – Videos Coming Up « Gyopo Keith - April 12, 2012

    […] clever and more resourceful than I. She went on some Naver and Daum cafe’s (essentially, Korean message boards) and went specifically to modeling/acting message boards to post an ad for them. And bam. In less […]

Leave a Reply

