Script Excerpt for Future Video

2 Feb

I haven’t enjoyed working in a long time. Of course there are good days where I have fun moments, but I haven’t actually enjoyedย work in a while. The last time I did enjoy work was when I first starting working for KoreanClass101 (not so much later). The reason I enjoyed it is because I was given creative freedom, and I was learning on the job. Much more enjoyable than teaching the nuances between “the” and “a” (which is really hard btw!).

So working on Seoulistic.com (my new website – not yet up) is an experience that I am enjoying, especially that part about being creative again. I am currently working on scripts for some videos to teach basic Korean. And I find myself giggling at home alone 2AM in the morning, and I think it would only be fair to share my delight ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s an excerpt from a video script teaching “How to Say ‘Thank You’ in Korean.” You can go the really boring route and just say it in the video, maybe repeat it a few times and have a basic review. It accomplishes what the video is aiming for, but the stickiness and social networking share value is virtually nil. That’s why I like to add a bit of comedy to my work.

[Scene 3] – ๊ฐ์‚ฌํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค (Thank you)
Guy on toilet. Fart sounds. Guy struggles to pop one out.
Looks for toilet paper and sees only one sheet.ย Knocks on next stall.
Guy: ์ €๊ธฐ์š”~ ์ข€ ๋„์™€์ฃผ์„ธ์š”. (Excuse me, a little help please)
– Roll of toilet paper is tossed over the stall.
Guy: ๊ฐ์‚ฌํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค… (Thank you)
Simple enough and it teaches the word in a fairly humorous situation. But I wanted to add a repeat scene so the educational value sticks for the viewer.
[Scene 4] – ๊ฐ์‚ฌํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค (Thank you)

Guy on toilet. Fart sounds. Guy struggles to pop one out.
Looks for toilet paper and sees only one sheet.ย Knocks on next stall.
Guy: ์ €๊ธฐ์š”~ ์ข€ ๋„์™€์ฃผ์„ธ์š”. (Excuse me, a little help please)
Dirty sock is thrown over.
Guy: (confused look) ๊ฐ์‚ฌํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค…? (Thank you?)
And there it is folks. My contribution to the Korean-learning community. I couldn’t stop laughing at this, and hopefully the world thinks it’s funny too. But even if they don’t, I’m still going to enjoy it ๐Ÿ™‚
6 Responses to “Script Excerpt for Future Video”

  1. Shannon February 3, 2012 at 2:55 AM #

    LOL What? That’s kind of disgusting, but it’s very funny. It’s easy to remember and it’s very different from what I usually see. People usually say: “and that’s how you say ‘thank you’ in Korean”. Which is a little boring and simple. You don’t really get to laugh or think about it in different occasions. Very funny!

    • Keith Kim February 10, 2012 at 3:25 PM #

      I hope so. I’m getting mixed reviews about it. But I’m sure I can make it come out good ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Tommy Pruett February 9, 2012 at 10:39 PM #

    Greetings Keith,
    I am one of those who are struggling to learn Korean, and currently using Koreanclass101. I found the lessons that you taught to be the most ‘natural’ sounding, while most of the others sound like they are reading a script . . . sometimes poorly I might add. I am excited about your ‘coming soon’ Seoulistic website. May I offer a suggestion, since you are still in the planning stage? In every translation (or translator software) that I can find to translate Korean into English, the Korean sentence always gets rearranged into correct English grammatical sentence structure. This is NOT helpful. I already know how to correctly arrange English words in a sentence. However, what is missing is the direct picture to picture translation. Language is, at its core, taking the pictures in one’s mind, and using the words at one’s disposal to try to paint a picture in the listener’s or reader’s mind that is as close to being exactly the same as the original picture in speaker’s or writer’s mind. This requires the speaker or writer to not only have an adequate vocabulary, but to consider the possible vocabulary limits of the listener or reader, and choose words that they will most likely be able to use. Example: If I say to you “Don’t think of a pink elephant”, the first thing that pops into your head is a pink elephant. But if you’ve never seen an elephant, you cannot picture anything.
    In much the same line of thinking, I think that the subscribers to your coming Seoulistic website would make much faster progress if you taught Korean in the correct Korean sentence structure (when translated into English). This will help the learner to think the picture order in their mind in the correct order to begin with.
    As for me, at this point, I am having the most difficulty with the rearranged translations. I believe that teaching Korean by literally translating the word order from Korean directly into English without rearranging the word order, will help the English speaking learner to ‘think’ the pictures in their head in the Korean order to begin with, rather than having the extra step of rearranging them before speaking, or trying to rearrange them into English order after hearing them.
    Much like taking a speed-reading course, where they have to break the reader of the acquired habit of ‘saying’ the word in their head, in order to speed up the comprehension of the text, teaching the elimination of the word rearrangement step in the speaker or listener’s head, by teaching direct picture to picture translation would yield far superior results, and much happier students.
    A simple example would be: ์ €๋Š”, Tommy ์ž…๋‹ˆ๋‹ค. Rather than teach that ‘jeo-nun, Tommy imnida’ means ‘I am Tommy’, teach that it translates ‘I Tommy am’. In my opinion, if this direct translation is taught always, the student will begin to think the pictures in the correct order, and eliminate two rearrangement steps, one in each direction.
    Please give this some thoughts as you bring your talents together to present a better way to teach Korean. I wish you much success. I will be looking to subscribe when you are up and teaching again.

    Tommy

    • Keith Kim February 10, 2012 at 3:27 PM #

      Thanks for the suggestion! I’m not really planning on teaching Korean at the moment. The videos are more simple phrases. The absolute basics. I will be sure to take that into account if and when I take on a more concentrated effort for teaching Korean. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Cindy April 11, 2012 at 7:01 AM #

    Hi Keith! I just saw your Youtube appearance on Talk to Me in English and wanted to give kudos for a job well done. You were very natural and charismatic. I think that if you continue to deliver like that, any video you choose to produce will have stellar results. Good luck!

    • Keith Kim April 11, 2012 at 1:27 PM #

      Thank you Cindy! I appreciate the kind words ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll be having a few videos on Seoulistic.com, but probably in a different format ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

