Craigslist Korea is My Best Friend

30 Jan

Moving to Korea can be a rough transition. Most people come with just the clothes on their back and have to start from scratch. That means getting furniture, appliances, and everyday household goods is part of the norm. Luckily there are always people on the other end of their stay, hoping to get rid of their stuff before they leave Korea. Craigslist Korea is a goldmine for foreigners in Korea. Here’s a bunch of stuff that I got off of the site and how much.

The best deals comes from people just looking to unload their stuff before they leave Korea. It’s a fire sale, and they’ll just sell it to get rid of it. I got pretty much everything I need, but I still check Craigslist all the time because sometimes there are just some deals that are too good to pass up!

8 Responses to “Craigslist Korea is My Best Friend”

  1. J. Ham January 31, 2012 at 12:17 AM #

    Just found your blog out of some overly complex google search of gyopos working in Korea.
    Just wanted to say, I found your blog pretty funny,relateable, and honest.
    I’m a 24 year old gyopo born and raised in the States. I finished my first year teaching/being an academic coordinator/whipping boy for all employees at my school(and hopefully the last) a few months ago, and came back to Korea to find a non-English teaching job. This sounds super lame, but I found your blog a great read. Its good to know there are some gyopos out here trying to do something different.
    Anyways, I wish you the best of luck!

    • Keith Kim February 1, 2012 at 2:43 AM #

      Thanks J Ham! I do try to be honest, not sure how the funny is working out tho. And I’m really encouraged that it is a good read. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

      Good luck on the job search. Hope you get used to a lot of 회식’s and Soju!

  2. Shannon January 31, 2012 at 1:36 AM #

    I want to move to Korea one day and this is a great tip. It’s good to know that you can find essential things that are not super expensive. It makes things easier for people! But what really impressed me was the Playstation 3. I don’t actually need it to survive but it’s cool. Anyways, useful post Keith. Keep on blogging!

    • Keith Kim February 1, 2012 at 2:45 AM #

      I ❤ my playstation 3!!!! It was more expensive than my bed, couch and washing machine combined, but I have no regrets at all haha 🙂

      When are you hoping to come to Korea Shannon?

      • Shannon February 2, 2012 at 7:18 AM #

        Actually, I don’t know. I’m too young to go now by myself… So I guess it won’t be so soon. But my mother says she wants to visit other countries. I can try to make South Korea our next destination 😀

  3. tiainkorea February 10, 2012 at 3:07 PM #

    Wow those are some amazing deals! I wish I had thought of Craigslist!

    • Keith Kim February 10, 2012 at 3:27 PM #

      I know! Bed, washer, and couch for 200,000 won? It’s like highway robbery.

  4. Fellas May 31, 2012 at 7:36 AM #

    300 000 won for ps3 and 4 games that was cheap!

Leave a Reply

