Texting Game in Korea

25 May

I’ve been single for the past few months and going with some meet and greets with the ladies of the ROK. It’s hard to meet good quality women when working full-time, but I’ve been outting myself out there making some effort.

But here’s where it gets tricky. Once I get a number, I’ve got to build a relationship with a lady via text. I’m not much of a texter, and I’d rather just meet up for date number 2 asap rather than spend some “getting-to-know-you” time via short messages. And it’s even tougher when the girls don’t give you anything to work with. Here’s an example convo:

Me: hey whats up
Girl: nothing
Me: i had fun last night, we should do it again
Girl: yup
Me: you looked tired though.
Girl: yea
Me: do you work alot?
Girl: kind of

repeat frustration for days. listen, I don’t have the most game in the world. I know. but come’on now! work with me here! I never had this problem in other places.

The game here is different. And I don’t think I’ll ever understand it!

6 Responses to “Texting Game in Korea”

  1. James May 25, 2011 at 11:09 AM #

    Keith you’re living in Korea right now?
    I just found this site by clicking on one of the Koreanclass 101 links as your name from back in 2007.
    Are you still doing new lessons there?

    Try this with your next text just for the heck of it…

    “Something just reminded me of you…” and then when she responds with “what”, just say something stupid and funny. It’ll atleast get her more intrigued than “hey wutsup” lol

    Spice it up a bit man, say the funny stuff you want to say!!! haha

    Anyways that’s my 2 cents, I just thought it would be cool to comment on this blog. I’m coming on exchange to Seoul next March, gonna be sweeet.

    • GyopoKeith May 26, 2011 at 10:01 AM #

      James, thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚ I don’t work there any more, but they still send out many of the lessons I did when I was previously there. I suspect I’ll be on that site for a while πŸ™‚

      I got the same suggestion from someone else! “hey something reminded me of you today” haha. I got no game, and it’s fine. but there’s not much to work with! haha. thanks for looking out!

  2. Jule June 19, 2011 at 12:36 PM #

    Hi Keith
    I too got here by clicking the link on your name at Kclass101. I’ve been working through the podcasts in my spare time and haven’t gotten to the point of you leaving yet. Sorry to hear you’re not there any more. I’m a 60-year-old grandma and totally fell in love with your voice and with you and Seol. I started trying to learn Korean because I may have a Korean son-in-law one day, also because I visited my daughter there a few years ago and loved Korea. You guys were special – still are to so many who are listening to your voices all the time.
    It’s hard work trying to learn another language and I think there are some weaknesses to the Innovative method. I’m still an absolute beginner but you guys made (make) it fun and those (now) old lessons keep me working at it. Thanks for all the work you did there – it’s a big part of my life. God bless you.

  3. Alex December 14, 2011 at 1:00 PM #

    I found you through KoreanClass101 also, and I haven’t gotten to the point of you leaving yet either but I did jump ahead and was disappointed to find out you weren’t hosting anymore. In any case, the past is the past, and it’s good that you’re moving on. Is it that much different in Korea with the short answers? If she’s into you would she still be answering like that? I guess you jump through hoops until you can prove you’re worth the extra characters. It’s been a while since you’ve blogged this so maybe you’ve gotten a broader insight on things now.

  4. Bigzee March 13, 2012 at 2:48 AM #

    This is probably to little to late reponse but here are my 2 cents. Korean girls like leaders they like a man that doesn’t dilly dally and goes for it. Ask her out, take her out for dinner and don’t tell her exactly what type of place it is, order soju with your meals right away drink and let the alcohol loosen the mood play some drinking games show humour and playfulness, bring her back to your place and done!

    • Keith Kim March 15, 2012 at 4:20 PM #

      Not late at all, I am always open to dating advice. You’re right though. I haven’t been assertive enough. I remember it working before, but I’ve actually been kind of lazy with dating haha

Leave a Reply

