I Need to Start My Own Web Business

13 Sep

The other day while I was teaching English, a student asked me: “Are you proud of your job?” Wow. Ballsy kid. But the truth of the matter is, I’m not going around proclaiming to the world that I am an English teacher. It’s fine. I’m having fun while I’m doing it, enjoying the ride as I go along, but it’s not something I’d like to have engraved on my epitaph. I’ve got other things I’d like to get accomplished.

So here are a few things that I’d like to do.

  • Start a site – with a focus on the newcomer to Korea, I’d like to provide survival Korean lessons, visa information, things to do, ways to meet people, etc. – I’m having a hard time trying to figure out a monetization strategy, but getting it up and running with some substantial traffic would not be a problem.
  • Write a screenplay – The story would focus on how I met my fiance and our life of daily miscommunication – all based on our common secondary identity.
  • Compile a Book – What I mean by compile is to kind of do something along the lines of Sh*t My Dad Says. Except being more positive.

And yup, all these are great and fun, but just gotta get started on doing it.


On a more personal note. I’m growing my hair out. I’ve had short hair for most of my life, minus a wild year in college when I didn’t get a haircut just out of laziness/poorness. But I’m at it again.

Don’t know where this is going. But might as well!

7 Responses to “I Need to Start My Own Web Business”

  1. 선현우(Hyunwoo Sun) September 13, 2010 at 2:55 AM #

    Whatever you do, you have my support, Keith!!!

    • Keith September 13, 2010 at 2:18 PM #

      Thanks hyung!

  2. 윤선 September 24, 2010 at 1:46 PM #

    Hey Keith! That all sounds great! You should do it!

    • Keith October 2, 2010 at 12:38 PM #

      I know…. 😦 It’s just about getting started… 😛

  3. Ivan September 27, 2010 at 3:29 PM #

    love your podcasts bro :)…been really helping me with my korean…I am living in Busan right now… as far as for the business check out http://paidtoexist.net/blog/video-two/ http://chrisguillebeau.com/3×5/the-book/ or Tim Ferris book “The Four Hour Work Week” might be helpful… I am kind of in the same boat as you…I have a online bizz now but hoping to ramp it up to full-time status within the year…I am sure you have learned a lot about how a successful membership web business works at koreanclass101…you prob already know everything you need…just gotta do it :)…good luck man!

  4. Marc Jordan Paxton October 1, 2010 at 12:44 AM #

    I’ve been enjoying your lessons on KoreaClass101.com, and wanted to thank you for all the help you’ve given me. My Korean skills haven’t faltered as much as I thought they would because of your group’s podcast and learning center options!

    A suggestion for your book: you guys have a strong brand with KoreanClass101.com, so I’d do a book that compiles success stories of people who’ve used the product and then gone on to success with their new language skills.

    – MJP (aka Beh Doo Sun)

    • Keith October 2, 2010 at 12:41 PM #

      Hey Marc,

      Glad the lessons are of help to you 🙂
      I no longer work there, but that might be a good suggestion to send them.

      Thanks for stopping by. Send me an e-mail or comment here if you ever need some help with something! I’ll try my best.

      Hope Korea’s been good to you so far.

Leave a Reply

