Post Birthday – Work-mania

20 Jun

My birthday passed last week. Thanks everyone for the well wishes! Turned a loser, to a overnight sensation. Ok maybe not. But thanks anyway. It really did mean a lot 🙂

My dad has always told me to do what I wanted to do, and to work hard. Any job that I’ve had, I’ve always worked hard. When I worked at my Aunt’s dry cleaners, I tried to do something every moment I wasn’t doing anything, but she just told me to chill out. When I first taught English at YBM, I came in early to prep, when there wasn’t really any prep involved. It was regurgitating material that was given to me. While working at Innovative Language I worked hard there too. I didn’t mind the long hours, or the low pay. I just thought it was just a part of life. But when things turned sour, I refused to work. So for a few months, I did nothing. Like absolutely nothing. I was rotting both mentally and physically.

Now that I’m out of there, it’s hard to get back to working hard. I found myself having the inability to focus, the inability to close. I’m a great starter, but I can’t seem to call the closer from the bullpen. I just leave things hanging. So when I started teaching again just last month, I found the adjustment tough.

But now that I’m back in the groove of working, I’m starting to get back into working hard. Staying late, working at every free moment, on the subway, waiting for a friend. I find myself hustling, which is good. I’ve been so dead for so long, I need some hustle in my life.

Now that I’m starting to get my groove back, I’m starting to pick up as much work as I can. Teaching early in the morning, internship during the day, working at night. It feels good to be working hard again, and to feel somewhat of a freelancer. Although I have a full-time job, the hours are flexible enough that I can pick up some other projects on the side. I just hope I don’t burn out in the process.

By the way, if anyone is looking for an English teacher, Voice actor, internet marketing consultant, spread the word homies! I’ve got my hustle back 😉

2 Responses to “Post Birthday – Work-mania”

  1. 윤선 June 20, 2010 at 10:10 PM #

    Hope you had a great birthday, Keith!

    You sound like a really hard worker. It’s inspiring! LOL. *Lazy*

    • GyopoKeith June 21, 2010 at 1:37 PM #

      Thanks Alexis 🙂 I did have a nice one ^^

Leave a Reply

