Not Doing Much, but Doing A Lot

2 Jun

I’ve been pretty busy the last few weeks.

I just started a new job at an English academy. The hours are great, from 4 PM to 10PM, which leaves a lot of time during the day. But there’s also a lot of work that needs to be done outside of work. I don’t mind that very much, cause I need to make that paper boy! But it’s still a lot more free time than I can get else where. It’s also fun to get in the classroom and hang out with kids. Just the other day, I taught them the words “doo doo butter.” A lot of kids took real good notes.

I also started a new internship as a production assistant. I’ll be helping produce a documentary about Korea and Korean culture in the modern day. It’s about a musical that portrays that subject matter, and the documentary is about that musical. Kind of confusing, I know. Basically it’s this:

Korean Culture -> People making a Musical -> Documentary about the musical.

Still don’t get it? it’s cool, cause I barely get it myself. Something about Obangsaek, which I just learned recently.

Anyway, here’s a trailer for it:

Obangsaek: a documentary portrait of modern Korea. from Benzo Media NYC on Vimeo.

I took this internship (aka no money), so I could learn about the film industry, but also, so I could learn about the process about making a documentary.

To help with the process of learning, I also just applied to a radio documentary job for an English radio station in Korea at TBSeFM. It’s not much money, but I’m guessing it’s going to be somewhat of an internship. It’s all good, cause I’ll still get a chance to learn to do some stuff that I’d like to get into.

So that’s a lot of stuff on my plate. But I’m still not doing much.

Not doing much in the sense that I’m working on other people’s projects and not my own. I’d like to do radio documentaries, get back into podcasting, get into some voice work, and maybe write a screenplay while I’m at it. I’ve got a lot of dreams and ambition, I just really lack a lot of will power and drive.

This is a personal blog for the time being, but at some point, I plan to have 5 different projects that I’ll be writing about here. Several different links each linking to different projects that I’m working on.

It’s an aspiration for the time being, and one that I don’t think is too hard to achieve. Hopefully, in a few weeks things will start to roll.

6 Responses to “Not Doing Much, but Doing A Lot”

  1. 윤선 June 2, 2010 at 10:22 PM #

    안녕!!!!! You have been busy! But everything sounds so exciting! ^_^

    (BTW I only just realised you had this blog. I stalked you on FB to find your e-mail address (check your e-mail!!!) and found this. I’m linking you back. 🙂 )

    See you soon hopefully! 🙂

  2. Keith June 2, 2010 at 11:47 PM #

    Thanks for stopping and commenting 윤선 ^^!
    And facebook stalking… is there such a thing anymore? everyone does it!
    See you soon in Korea!

    • YoonSeon June 3, 2010 at 11:36 AM #

      HAHA, true. What else is FB good for?! LOL.

      Yup, see you soon!!

  3. Jess June 18, 2010 at 12:32 AM #

    “Doo-doo butter.”

    I plan on using this a lot now. Sank you, Keesuh teachuh!

    • GyopoKeith June 20, 2010 at 10:41 AM #

      “Don’t say you learned it from me!” Is what I told my kids. haha

  4. julinetteg November 15, 2012 at 10:40 AM #

    I’m glad to found your blog and make this back to back reading because it will show how hard you work and your accomplishments. Very inspirational! i have a lot of dreams and aspirations too, so I need to get in track and keep the focus.

Leave a Reply

